New Year, Make a blog better, and some Nintendo love.

I have not supported this blog as well as I would have liked. I haven’t posted many pictures, I haven’t posted anything in a very long time. I have a few things that I have been working on that by now are old news but I will finish them up with my new free time now that the Christmas season is coming to a close. It’s still not yet over, due to the amount of kiddies coming into work to spend gift cards and Christmas money on video game.

Speaking of games I cannot wait to see what Decembers sales numbers are. My co-worker Chris Buck was telling a customer that he thought that Nintendo has been not making enough New Super Mario Bros. Wii on purpose, just to drive up interest in the game, “like what they did with the system, Mario Kart, Wii Fit,” he said.  I have never thought that Nintendo was purposely under making games to drive interest. If you look at the interest in things like the Wii system, Mario Kart, Wii Fit, and New Super Mario Bros. Wii pre-release, you’ll see other than a small majority of gamers there wasn’t that much attention given to these games. But after release large amounts of non-traditional gamers flocked to stores to buy these games after seeing commercials or playing it at a friend’s house. Also due the state of the damn Bush economy Nintendo has been playing safe. In an environment where the next day could very well bring about the next Great Depression Nintendo is doing what they do best, surviving. They have done very well in the past with the NES and Super NES, but with out there brilliant business model their Company would have been devastated during their dry periods of the N64 and Gamecube. The company is known for being very conservative and it’s that conservatism that allowed them to still make money even when only the diehard Nintendo fans were buying their systems and games.

Once those sales numbers come out I’m sure I’ll see that Nintendo is at the top of both the system and game sales.

Leave a Reply

