When will I buy a Playstation 3?

This generation, the generation still called by many, the “Next Generation,” I bought a Wii day one. A year later, in November 2007 I bought an Xbox 360.  With those two systems I am more than satisfied with my gaming selection. In fact including my Nintendo DSi I have too many games that I want to play right now. Typically in the past I have had one home console and a handheld that I rarely played. I did own a Dreamcast that I had a few games (because I could find any games), but that was it. I finally bought a PS2 after I had a Wii so that I could get the Katamari games that I always wanted to play. For a while those were the only two games I wanted or needed for the PS2, but I eventually, though working at GameStop, discovered Ico, Shadow of the Colossus, the Fatal Frame series, the Yakuza series, and Shin Megami games. I have also been going back to the Gameboy games that I missed and I for the first time am just as active with my handheld as with my consoles.

Add that with everything I have for my Wii and 360, and why in the world would I want to buy another system to add even more game that I want to play but have not time to play? I have around 50 games across all platforms that I have yet to beat. I have been working on completing games, I have beat Okami, Phantasy Star Zero and New Super Mario Bros. Wii in the past month.

I used to look at the PS3 and had very little intrest in owning it. There were very few games that I wanted to play so as more games came out that I did want to play I made a list of them so that I could try to develop some kind of threshold for me buying a Playstation 3. The current list is Metal Gear 4, Valkyria Chronicles, Flower, Little Big Planet (only for the creation aspect because the jumping is broken), Pixel Junk Eden, Noby Noby Boy, Motorstorm Pacific Rift, Wipeout HD, Demon’s Soul, and I’m looking forward to Yakuza 3, Heavy Rain and most of all The Last Guardian. With a list like that I certainly have enough reasons to get a PS3 but it’s still not enough to drop $300 on a new system.

About a year ago I came to the conclusion the I would only get a PS3 after the next Team ICO game is released (The Last Guardian). I also predicted that my boss, mostly by pressure from his girl friend, would get his own PS3 system. I was wrong, but the Assistant Manager did get his this year so Eric (my boss) and I have been making jokes of our hatred of Sony and now my new goal is to wait longer than Eric to get my own PS3. It may be not be until the tail end of the ten years of the Playstation 3 before I get me one.

Leave a Reply

